Chocolate Chip Smarties Cookie

It is the beautiful weekend and just about the only time I actually get to test some of my mile long list of recipes I would love to share with you.

This past weekend I got to test out a cookie that is really known when stepping into bakeries these days, they have these huge cookies with all different flavors and usually sold one by one.

So I decided to bake some of my own because just as much as I love the old traditional custard, coffee and romary cream cookies me and my mom used to make together, these are so freaking cute and looks so beautiful and fun!!

I just had to!!

Okay so Let’s start with the “testing” part.

I love baking new recipes but I love creating my own so much more! Just the way I am wired I guess, writing and baking and ending up with a recipe I can put my name on just gives me the most deepest satisfaction and pride I would recommend it any time. But the best part is giving them away and hearing how much friends and family loved them. I the first ones I baked I gave to Kobus to test out, then when he asked me to bake them again, I could not make time to do it. When he ask for something specific, which he rarely do, It means so much.

Butter/Margarine: Then just to make sure all of you will be able to bake it regardless of your budget, I baked these with regular Salted Butter from Clover, Sunshine D Margarine because they have 80% fat content and also Flora Plant Based Butter, and they all came out perfect.

If you love the rich deep flavor of butter, regular butter is definitely a good choice, the plant based taste was not far behind that, and the margarine may have a little bit of a different taste and maybe baked up a small bit crunchier than the others but all three was delicious never the less.

Get yourself a coffee or a nice glass of milk with these as they are rich and sweet and one is a whole snack on it’s own.

Sugar: For the Sugar Part I decided to use only brown, with the chocolate chips and Mini Smarties being so much sweet already, I wanted to dial it down just a bit so I used only brown sugar and I have to be honest, It was so much better for me. The soft taste of brown sugar just gave it the perfect taste I wanted.

Eggs: Make sure to use large eggs, and cold ones too, they save time and can go right into the oven without chilling. Remember with cold cookies going into your oven, the cookies won’t spread and will leave you with crispy on the outside and so soft on the inside. I am not a fan of a cookie that is so hard you have to dunk it into coffee to eat, I like them to be soft enough to grab and go without any liquid near by.

Oven Temperature: Usually you would bake cookies at 180 degrees Celsius, these I baked at 210 degrees Celsius. Trust me, the cookie spread out just enough to give me that chewy and soft center I so desperately want.

Let’s see what else…

Oh don’t be afraid to add the extra salt even if you used salted butter, it balance out the sweet taste.

Here is what you need to bake these:

  • Hand or Stand Mixer
  • Spatula to scrape the sides
  • Baking Paper

Now the Ingredients:

  • Butter / Margarine / Plant Butter
  • Brown Sugar
  • Eggs (cold)
  • Vanilla
  • All purpose flower
  • Corn Starch
  • Baking Soda
  • Salt
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Mini Smarties

So without any wait any longer, here is the full recipe for you below. I made mine about the size of a tennis ball and got about 12-14 cookies depending on the size you choose.

Have fun with these and enjoy every second of baking, eating and sharing them with some family and friends. I hope I see you very soon with a new recipe that you might just come to love!

Thank you so much for reading and subscribing to all my different platforms, it means the world to be able to share these recipes at home for you to go and bake at home.

Until the next one

All my Love

Yolandie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I’m Yolandie

Welcome to my little corner on the web, where I get to share all my love for baking with you! I Hope you enjoy it as much as I do when sharing it!

Let’s connect

Discover more from YOLANDIE OLECH

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading