5 Mistakes We Forget When Baking
5 Mistakes When Baking

This Past week I shared a post on my social media accounts 5x baking mistakes we sometimes forget to do that end up having a huge impact on your baking goods.

Then I thought I should Come share it and maybe just explain a bit more..

Number 1. Only reading the ingredients and not the full post.

I have a friend who once told me, she hates how bloggers always talk a lot before you actually find the recipe.

I never noticed it, because reading their posts was always quite interesting to me.

Then now when I thought about it, I realized how many tips we actually write in the post itself that does not show in the recipe cards.

So my suggestion is to try and always read the story too.

Number2. Tapping That Tins

So number 2 is one we usually, me as well, forget to do, especially when Baking isn’t a habit but a once a while occasional thing.

So why, what does it to?

Have you ever noticed when you slice into a cake, there is some holes there, that kinda looks like a critter got into the cake, well that is air pockets, they develop because of your raising agenst and mixing of your ingredients.

Once you pour out the cake in the baking tins, or even into your cupcake liners, take a second to notice the air bubbles that form on top. The longer it stands, the more air bubbles it make.

By simply, softly tapping the tins on your table. You will notice the air bubbles popping. Then as fast as you can put them in the oven. You might not get all, but it will help lots.

Number3. Weighing Ingredients

If you were brought up like me, baking with “cups” Recipes instead of “Gram” yes I feel you, somehow we always seached for my mom’s One Red Cookbook that had some conversions in. Lol But now looking back, I never even thought about getting a kitchen scale. I honestly don’t know if they even existed!

But now having 3x (yes I love baking) I now know how much more accurate it is using a scale, now I know when Baking someones recipe, there can’t be a problem with over flour use or too little sugar.

You will actually notice a lot of my own recipes are written still in cups, yet the latest ones I really try to weigh it out for you and put them in both.

Number4: Pre-heat Your Oven

If you have an electric oven, the older versions, you will notice, once you put the oven on, there is a red light that shows and after a while, it goes off.

That light gives an indication of when the oven is the same as the temperature you choose, but to be certain I just leave it a bit longer, about 20-30 minutes.

The old gas ovens are a bit trickier, they tend to not spread the heat as evenly as it is supposed to be in Baking, I don’t know if the new models does it better, but I bought myself and thermometer for the gas oven, and I am still not quite happy with how it bakes. If You have an suggestion, please let me know in the comments below.

Number5: Over Mixing

Once you pour in the dry ingredients, somehow we always feel we need to beat the batter until those lumbs are out, yes we do want the lumps out, but over mixing can cause your cake to become dense

The best way is to make sure you sift your flour and add the dry ingredients little at an time, then just mixing the batter until combined.

If You have any other Tips or tricks to help, leave them in the comments below so I can test them out a bit. I would love to hear and even learn some more.

and I hope these 5x helps you bake the most amazing cakes ever!!

All My Love

Yolandie

2 responses to “5 Mistakes We Forget When Baking”

  1. allikat55 Avatar
    allikat55

    Hi Yolandie
    I have a thermofan oven and most recipes state that it’s not necessary to preheat the oven. After reading your note on preheating should I now do this prior to putting a tray to bake?
    Thank you kindly
    Allison Amra

    Like

    1. Yolandie Olech Avatar

      Hello Allikat55, Absolutely preheat your oven, I have baked in all and thermofan according to me really helps with even baking but a preheated oven is always good to make sure your bake rise evenly. So please preheat. Let me know if it helped

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

I’m Yolandie

Welcome to my little corner on the web, where I get to share all my love for baking with you! I Hope you enjoy it as much as I do when sharing it!

Let’s connect

Discover more from YOLANDIE OLECH

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading